Oneaction
Empowering Changemakers

GreenAction

Project summary

It is the children of today who, tomorrow, will face the consequences of the current environmental issues. OneAction wishes to modestly contribute to handing them over a healthier planet, and to equip them with the tools to become actors of sustainable development in order for them to address the challenges that they will encounter. Through the development of pedagogical gardens in schools, OneAction accompanies them in the realization of their connection with nature and provides them with the opportunity to experience it firsthand. 

"The use of a pedagogical garden as a tool of child development within the school has never been so widespread and recommended as today; because it has become urgent to forge "ecocitizenship" without which there would most likely be no future for humanity. (Joëlle Zask - free translation)


Projects   greenaction   2016   1 Projects   greenaction   2016   2 Projects   greenaction   2016   3 Projects   greenaction   2016   4 Projects   greenaction   2016   5 Projects   greenaction   2016   6 Projects   greenaction   2016   7 Projects   greenaction   2017   1 Projects   greenaction   2017   3

Areas

Education, Empowerment, Environment

Project duration

1 year per school

Beneficiaries

More than 120 students annually

Budget

Depends on the number of partner schools and participants


Context

GreenAction was born out of two main observations.

Children spend a significant portion of their time inside, in the city or in front of a screen, even though connecting with nature is one of the essential elements of a child's development. Research studies expose a link between this disconnection and numerous ailments such as hyperactivity, attention deficiency and obesity, while on the contrary, interacting with their natural environment tends to improve children's concentration, self-esteem and creativity.

Moreover, local authorities, school directors and teachers in Switzerland have expressed the wish to carry out sustainable development programmes and to offer comprehensive environmental education activities to students. However, schools often don't possess sufficient know-how, resources and tools to implement such activities over the long term.

To address these issues, OneAction launched GreenAction to support schools in the implementation of pedagogical gardens by providing them with the necessary tools to manage the garden sustainably.


Our partner

During the school year 2015 - 2016, OneAction conducted a pilot project for GreenAction in partnership with La Côte International School in Aubonne with the objective of promoting sustainable development projects within the school. The various environmental and social initiatives carried out by the students enabled them to considerably reduce food waste within the school and to create a pedagogical garden. During this pilot year, we noted that teachers and students prioritized the creation of the garden. Therefore, GreenAction is now specializing in the development of these pedagogical gardens.

Throughout the school year 2017 - 2018 OneAction is working in partnership with Institut Florimont and École Moderne to help them set up GreenAction within their institution.


The project

GreenAction offers schools the possibility to develop a pedagogical garden and activities linked to it. OneAction adapts to the needs of its partner schools who decide which elements of the project they wish to implement. It provides institutions with an environmental education specialist. Her role is to set up and manage a pedagogical garden in collaboration with the students throughout the year. She regularly goes to the school to share with pupils and teachers the necessary gardening tools and trainings, and conducts workshops linked with the garden. She also ensures that the project becomes self-sufficient after one year: students, teachers and school staff are equipped to take over and manage the garden over the long term.

We make sure to include students in the process from the very start of the adventure. Amongst other things, they participate in designing the garden, selecting plants, installing containers and pots, planting, harvesting and taking care of plants. Furthermore, the main goal is not to maximize the garden's yield, but rather to learn together and observe, by persevering and helping each other out, and accepting mistakes as a learning tool. 

The integration of a garden in the school programme is beneficial not only for sustainable development, but also for pedagogical and educational reasons. Indeed, gardening provides the student with the possiblity to cultivate patience, perseverance, solidarity, organization and development of his or her individuality. Above all, it enables children to acquire "self-development", "self-education" and "self-governing" capacities. The well-known education specialist Maria Montessori insists on the qualities that gardening encompasses above other activities: « when the child observes that the plant dies if it doesn't receive water, he or she "starts to feel invested in a life mission" ; the latter is not dictated by the voice of his or her parents nor by the one of his or her teachers, but by the "voice of the world" ». The student is an actor and is responsible for the garden, all while extending his or her field of consciousness and developing his or her self-esteem. Additionally, while gardening shapes a child's individuality, it also fosters social skills such as cooperation and dialogue with others, when carrying out tasks in the garden.

GreenAction's pedagogical gardens thus provides students with the opportunity to contribute to addressing current environmental issues, while developing their solidarity, self-esteem and social and emotional capabilities.


Expected results

  • A pedagogical garden is set up within the partner school and is used as a tailor-made tool incorporating multiple elements of sustainable development;
  • A viable management system is set up to guarantee the garden's sustainability over the long term;
  • A tangible link is nurtured between students and nature;
  • Students adopt values and behaviours linked to sustainable living;
  • They develop their creativity, civic responsibility, as well as social and emotional capabilities;
  • And they become actors of sustainable change.

Sustainability

  • From the installation of pots and containers to trainings and the creation of a maintenance team for the summer, everything is taken into consideration to guarantee the functioning of the garden over the long term;
  • OneAction provides a solid framework with user-friendly tools for teachers, students and school staff, in order for them to follow up and sustain the garden themselves over the long term;
  • The GreenTeam, the students, the teachers, and the maintenance team continue to care for the garden throughout the years and to develop activities inspired by GreenAction. GreenAction's project supervisor remains available to offer occasional advice.

Some facts and figures about the project

 

  • More than 200 students benefited from the pilot project in 2015 - 2016;
  • 2 partner schools are participating in the project during the school year 2017 - 2018
  • More than 120 students between 4 and 12 years old and 8 teachers are involved in the project this year; 
  • 8 small gardens have been installed and are being cultivated;
  • 15 workshops are being conducted throughout the year.

Oneaction
Empowering Changemakers

GreenAction

Aperçu du projet

Ce sont les enfants d’aujourd’hui qui, demain, feront face aux conséquences des problématiques environnementales actuelles. Nous souhaitons contribuer modestement, d’une part, à remettre en leurs mains une planète en meilleure santé, et, d’autre part, à les équiper pour être les acteurs d'un changement durable et faire face aux défis qui seront les leurs. En les accompagnant dans le développement de jardins pédagogiques au sein des écoles, OneAction les mène à prendre conscience de leur lien avec la nature et leur donne une occasion de le vivre.

"L’utilisation du jardin potager comme outil pédagogique de développement enfantin dans le cadre scolaire n’a jamais été aussi répandue et recommandée qu’aujourd’hui ; car il y a urgence à forger l’“écocitoyenneté” sans laquelle il n’y aura vraisemblablement pas de futur pour l’humanité." (Joëlle Zask)


Projects   greenaction   2016   1 Projects   greenaction   2016   2 Projects   greenaction   2016   3 Projects   greenaction   2016   4 Projects   greenaction   2016   5 Projects   greenaction   2016   6 Projects   greenaction   2016   7 Projects   greenaction   2017   1 Projects   greenaction   2017   3

Thématiques

Éducation, Empowerment, Environnement

Durée du projet

1 an par école

Bénéficiaires

Plus de 120 élèves par année

Budget

Dépend du nombre d’écoles partenaires et de participants


Contexte

GreenAction est né de deux constats. D’une part, les enfants passent une très grande partie de leur temps à l’intérieur, en ville ou devant des écrans alors que le lien avec la nature est l’un des éléments essentiels au développement de l’enfant et que le contact avec l’environnement naturel tend à favoriser la concentration, l’estime de soi et la créativité. Des recherches exposent notamment un lien entre cette déconnexion et de nombreux maux comme l’hyperactivité, les troubles de l’attention, l’obésité, etc.

D’autre part, les instances cantonales, ainsi que des directeurs et professeurs d’écoles en Suisse expriment le souhait de mettre en place des programmes de développement durable et d’offrir aux élèves une éducation environnementale plus poussée. Cependant, les écoles ne disposent pas toutes du temps et des ressources nécessaires à la mise en place de telles activités sur le long terme.

Pour répondre à ces problématiques, OneAction propose, à travers son programme GreenAction, de soutenir les écoles dans l’installation et la pérennisation d’un jardin pédagogique en leur fournissant tous les outils nécessaires pour l’entretenir de manière durable.


Notre partenaire

Durant l’année scolaire 2015 - 2016, OneAction a mené avec l’École internationale de La Côte, à Aubonne, un projet pilote de GreenAction dont le but était de promouvoir différentes actions de développement durable au sein de l’école de manière pérenne. Le programme a entre autres permis aux élèves de réduire le gaspillage alimentaire et de développer un jardin pédagogique. Au cours de l’année, nous avons remarqué que la priorité des enseignants et des élèves portait sur le jardin. Ainsi, le programme GreenAction se spécialise désormais dans le développement de jardins pédagogiques.

Au cours de l'année scolaire 2017 - 2018, OneAction oeuvre en partenariat avec l'Institut Florimont et l'École Moderne pour la mise en place de GreenAction au sein de leurs établissements.


Le projet

GreenAction propose aux établissements scolaires un projet de jardin pédagogique et des ateliers liés à celui-ci. OneAction s’adapte aux besoins des écoles, qui décident quels aspects du projet elles souhaitent entreprendre durant l’année, et met à leur disposition une conseillère spécialisée. Le rôle de celle-ci est de mettre sur pied et de gérer tout au long de l’année le jardin pédagogique avec les élèves ; elle se rend régulièrement sur place pour fournir les outils et formations nécessaires tant aux enseignants qu’aux élèves et anime des ateliers liés au jardin. Elle veille également à rendre le projet autosuffisant en un an : les élèves, les enseignants et le personnel de l’école sont équipés afin de reprendre le flambeau et faire vivre le potager sur le long terme.

S’agissant des élèves, ils sont impliqués dès le début de l’aventure, du choix du design et des cultures, à l’entretien et la récolte, en passant par la mise en place du jardin. Par ailleurs, le but ne concerne pas tant le rendement du potager que le fait d’apprendre ensemble, en observant, en persévérant, en s’entraidant et en acceptant les erreurs comme éléments d’apprentissage.

L’intégration d’un jardin potager dans le programme scolaire est bénéfique non seulement sur le plan du développement durable, mais également sur le plan pédagogique et éducatif. En effet, le jardinage apporte à l’élève la possibilité de cultiver la patience, la persévérance, la solidarité, l’organisation ainsi que de développer son individualité. Surtout, le jardinage permet d’acquérir des capacités d’«auto-développement», d’«auto-gouvernement» et d’«auto-éducation». La célèbre pédagogue Maria Montessori insiste sur les qualités que comporte le jardinage plus que toute autre activité : « quand l’enfant constate que la plante sans arrosage périt, il “commence à se sentir investi d’une mission dans sa vie” ; celle-ci n’est pas dictée par la voix de ses parents ou de ses instituteurs mais elle est la “voix du monde” ». L’élève, ainsi acteur et responsable du potager, élargit son champ de conscience et développe son estime de lui-même. En outre, si le jardinage permet de former son individualité, il permet également de développer des compétences nécessaires au vivre-ensemble par la coopération et le dialogue avec les autres, s’agissant des tâches au jardin.

Le projet de jardin pédagogique de GreenAction permet donc aux élèves d’apporter leur pierre à l’édifice dans l’action face aux défis environnementaux, tout en développant leur solidarité, leur estime d’eux-mêmes, ainsi que leurs compétences émotionnelles et sociales.


Résultats attendus

  • Un jardin pédagogique est mis en place au sein de l'école partenaire et sert d’outil modulable incorporant tous les éléments du développement durable ;
  • Un système de gestion pérenne du jardin est en marche ;
  • Un lien tangible entre les élèves et la nature est créé ;
  • Les élèves adoptent des valeurs et des comportements liés à un mode de vie durable ;
  • Ils développent leur créativité, leur responsabilité citoyenne et leurs compétences émotionnelles et sociales ;
  • Et ils deviennent des acteurs du développement durable.

Durabilité

  • OneAction fournit un cadre solide avec des outils faciles à utiliser pour les enseignants, les élèves et le personnel de l’école, afin que ces derniers puissent reprendre le flambeau du jardin et faire vivre le potager sur le long terme ;
  • La GreenTeam, les élèves et l'équipe de maintenance continuent à s'occuper du jardin au fil des années, et le réseau GreenAction reste à disposition pour des conseils occasionnels.

Le projet en quelques chiffres

 

  • 1 école et plus de 200 élèves ont bénéficié du projet pilote en 2015 - 2016 ;
  • 2 écoles partenaires participent pendant l'année scolaire 2017 - 2018 ;
  • Plus de 120 élèves entre 4 et 12 ans, et 8 enseignants sont impliqués dans le projet cette année ;
  • 8 potagers ont été installés et sont cultivés ;
  • 15 ateliers seront menés dans le courant de l'année.